JSON   RDF   ISO19115/ISO19139 XML

Bushfire Protection Areas

IMPORTANT NOTE: The Bushfire Protection Areas falls under the Development Act 1993 and has been superseded by the Bushfire Overlays (found in Planning and Design Code Overlays) under the Planning, Development and Infrastructure Act 2016.

Bushfire Protection Areas show the spatial extent of the Bushfire Protection provisions brought in under the Ministerial Bushfire Management amendments in 2006 (part 1 and part 2) and 2007 (part 3). The level of bushfire risk is rated as High, Medium, General or Excluded and determines the planning approvals plus requirements under the Australian Building Code and Australian Standard AS 3959 for the construction of dwellings in the defined bushfire risk areas. Some areas have criteria that, if met, change the designated level of bushfire risk. Bushfire Protection Areas exist in the South East Region, Riverland, Kangaroo Island, Mount Lofty Ranges, Mid North, Yorke Peninsula and Eyre Peninsula.

Data and Resources

Additional Info

Field Value
Title Bushfire Protection Areas
Type Dataset
Language aar
Licence Creative Commons Attribution
Data Status active
Update Frequency infrequently
Landing Page https://data.sa.gov.au/data/dataset/30e275dd-a6f3-4af5-8b8a-6f4919ff6fe7
Date Published 2013-05-17
Date Updated 2023-05-05
Data Granularity Updated down to unit area
Temporal Coverage 2006-06-30 - 2015-03-04
Geospatial Coverage South Australia
Jurisdiction South Australian Government
Data Portal data.sa.gov.au
Publisher/Agency Department for Trade and Investment